Hardest First Week of The New Year EVER!!!

place

 

This blog is going to be a little longer than the usual post because so much as happened the past week. I survived my first real cold post surgery, my biggest food craving attack and realization, my biggest disappointment since surgery, and watching the biggest loser for the time since surgery. It was hard week but I survived…I survived on my own and I did it myself and I so proud of myself. I will never be perfect but I am now braver and stronger for everything that I go through.

 

I am starting to work out more. I am back at my Studio Vida! and I am glad to be back. These instructors are super tough and I am going to be super sore tomorrow. I hope that now that I am feeling better..I will be able to work out more and get more into a routine.

 

Being sick post surgery has its own dilemmas. What medicines can I take? What medicines work for my body type? What will hurt my stomach? There are so many things to consider. My cold started on Christmas day with a slight fever. The fever broke by dinner time on Christmas day. I had to do some research and ask a few doctors but Children’s Sudafed was the best medication for me to take. I took that for several days and felt well enough to fly to back to San Antonio. But when I got back to San Antonio, I got sicker and did not have my family. I got some liquid antibiotics and a combination of Mucinex and Allegra D (Both Children’s) saved me. And now I am feeling so much better.

 

This week I have been craving food like crazy. I want bread. I know I can’t have it because it will swell up in my stomach. And if I eat too much bread, too fast, it could choke me. I want pizza and donuts. I miss red bull. I miss french fries with lots of ketchup. I know that I can’t have them but I miss them. Luckily I have some of the best family, friends, and co-workers who helped deal with my cravings.

 

I lost two friends this week. No they did not pass away. They just exited stage left of my life. They hurt me really bad but I think that is good that I found out now instead of later. I am glad that I found out who there before I put myself in a situation that I can’t get out of. I am glad for their friendship and I am glad for the lessons learned.

 

Watching the biggest loser this year was super hard. I see myself in a lot of the contestants and I am going through the same things. There was one girl who walked off the show and she had some of the same health issues I had…I am glad that I have lost the weight by my heart breaks for her.  I love that show but this year I don’t know if I can watch it without tearing up through every episode.

 

This week I have learned how strong I am and how strong I can be. I have my mom and dad who are my pillars of strength and they have made me strong. When I figure what it is I am supposed…the rest will fall into place.

2 thoughts on “Hardest First Week of The New Year EVER!!!

  1. adiesal January 8, 2013 at 2:46 pm Reply

    You are strong and it will get better. My first week back too. We can do this Asha. Love you.

  2. Becky January 8, 2013 at 9:00 pm Reply

    Oh, Asha, you are so brave and so strong! Don’t worry, I’ve watched every episode of TBL for the past 5 years and I cry during most episodes. One of my hopes after finishing college will be to join the battle against childhood obesity. Those three kids just make me want to jump through the screen and give them big hugs! As for the friends, well, the only thing I can say is that you find out who your true friends are when you go through major life changes (weight loss, marriage, babies). It’s not easy to let people go, but you have to put yourself first. Just make sure you hug tight to the ones who stick by you through it all!

Leave a Reply

